

## **ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA**

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001

No. ECI/PN/37/2024

02.04.2024

## PRESS NOTE

## Commission transfers 8 DMs and 12 SPs in five states

The Election Commission of India (ECI) today has issued transfer orders for District Magistrates (DM), Superintendent of Police (SP) and DIG/IG rank officers in five states namely Assam, Bihar, Jharkhand, Odisha and Andhra Pradesh. The decision was taken as part of the regular review by the Commission during a meeting chaired by Chief ELection Commissioner Shri Rajiv Kumar along with Election Commissioners Shri Gyanesh Kumar and Shri Sukhbir Singh Sandhu.

The officials transferred are as follows:

- 1. Assam : DM of Udalgiri
- 2. Bihar:
  - a. DM and SP of Bhojpur district
  - b. DM and SP of Nawada district
- 3. Jharkhand:
  - a. SP Deoghar
  - b. Directed to fill up vacant posts of SP(Rural) Ranchi, DIG Palamu, IG Dumka and send panel of officials
- 4. Odisha:
  - a. DM of Cuttack & Jagatsinghpur
  - b. SP of Angul, Behrampur, Khurda, Rourkela;
  - c. DCP Cuttack & IG Central
- 5. Andhra Pradesh:
  - a. DM of Krishna, Ananthpuramu, Tirupati districts
  - b. SP of Prakasham, Palnadu, Chittoor, Anathpuramu, Nellore districts
  - c. IGP Guntur Range

Under the directive, all the transferred officials have been asked to hand over the charge to their immediate junior officer and these officers will not be assigned any election duty till completion of the General Elections 2024. The respective state governments have been directed to send a panel of names of IAS and IPS officers to the Commission.

Any Clarket

Anuj Chandak Joint Director (Media)