## **ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA**

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001

No. ECI/PN/103/2024

25.05.2024

## **Press Note**

Anantnag-Rajouri PC makes history, as it records its highest turnout in the last 35 years, at 51.35 %

~50% voting in three PCs in the valley as compared to 19.16% in 2019

Voters queue up to vote since early morning in an atmosphere of peace and security in J & K

After record voter turnouts in Srinagar and Baramulla in the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir, Anantnag-Rajouri Parliamentary Constituency (PC) too has shattered voter turnout records, with 51.35 % recorded at 5 pm in the districts of Anantnag, Poonch, Kulgam and districts of Rajouri and Shopian partially, the highest since 1989 ie in 35 years.

With this, in the ongoing General Elections 2024, the three PCs in the valley namely Srinagar (38.49%), Baramulla (59.1%) and Anantnag-Rajouri (51.35% as of 5 PM) have recorded voter turnouts which is highest in many decades. Overall, the voter turnout in the three PCs in the valley is ~50% (Anantnag Rajouri at 5 pm) in current General Elections, compared to 19.16% in 2019. The Commission led by CEC Sh. Rajiv Kumar and ECs Sh. Gyanesh Kumar and Sh. Sukhbir Singh Sandhu said "People of Jammu and Kashmir, in the Anantnag Rajouri PC polling too, have reposed faith in democracy and proved naysayers wrong".



Voters queuing outside polling stations in Anantnag-Rajouri PC

Polling took place in 2338 polling stations across the Anantnag-Rajouri Parliamentary constituency with live webcasting at the polling stations. Voting started at 7 a.m. across the PC with long queues of enthusiastic voters waiting to cast their votes. Polling personnel including security personnel worked tirelessly to ensure that an atmosphere of calm, peace and festivities welcomed voters at the polling stations.



Tribal voters of District Rajouri, Jammu and Kashmir

## **Gross Voter Turnout in past few elections**

PC/Year	2019	2014	2009	2004	1999	1998	1996	1989
Anantnag	8.98%	28.84%	27.10%	15.04%	14.32%	28.15%	50.20%	5.07%

Note: Due to delimitation exercise, the voter turnout data from previous elections for the current PC, may not be directly comparable



A total of 20 candidates are in the fray including 2 women for the Lok Sabha seat from Anantnag-Rajouri.

The Commission has also enabled Kashmiri migrant voters residing at various relief camps in Delhi, Jammu, and Udhampur to have the option of voting in person at designated special polling stations or using postal ballot. 21 Special Polling Stations were established at Jammu, 1 at Udhampur and 4 at Delhi.



Kashmiri migrant voters at Special Polling Stations

Anuj Chandak Joint Director